Unnecessary Memes

There are a lot of things that annoy me. It just so happens, a lot of those things are on Facebook. Among those things, are uplifting memes (because I’m a terrible person), but what I hate even more are memes that are uplifting that you must share if you do that thing. Like, “Today is son day! Share this if you love your son!” And then everyone feels obligated to share because God forbid someone think that you don’t love your son because you didn’t share a meme on Facebook. Or “Cancer is bad, share this if you hate cancer!” And no one wants to be the person who doesn’t hate cancer. They’re basically like those horrible chainmails that you had to send to 10 people or your crush would never like you. Obligatory sharing annoys me the most, so I thought it would be fun to make some really ridiculous obligatory sharing memes.

Like for instance, tomorrow, September 17th, is national Eat an Apple Day (because that’s a thing that needs to exist), so of course it needs a meme.

National Eat an Apple DayTechnically, this should have at least one misspelling and some unnecessary ellipses, but my OCD prevented it. (When in doubt, always blame your OCD.)

I also thought it would be fun to make one that people feel really obligated to share. You can post this and then question all your friends who don’t share it. Hey, maybe there’s even bounty on them you can collect!

Murder MemeIf you want something a little more heartwarming though, there’s nothing like a friend in bad weather meme.

Friend in bad weatherAnd of course, no meme catalog is complete without the one that gently tries to tell your friends how they’re doing the parenting thing all wrong.

Hard WorkIf you want to share these easily, I’m going to put them on my Facebook page and then see how many likes my page loses! If you do share them, let me know how many friends you lose or if it gets shared again by some gullible poor soul. If one of these goes viral, I’ll even throw a pizza party!

Also, I’m sorry for neglecting my blog lately. I just started grad school, which is exciting, but my schedule has basically been, go to work, work, go back home, do two hours of school work, eat dinner, watch an episode of Rick and Morty, pass out. I’m going to find some time soon though to put together some comic ideas I have. Probably.

This entry was posted in Human Interactions, Motivational Posters, Nerd Things and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to Unnecessary Memes

  1. 97% of people won’t post this random picture of a rock to their wall for one hour. Will you be one of the 3% who cares enough to do it?

    Liked by 8 people

  2. Yet another reason to avoid Facebook. I’m totally lifting one of your memes to tweet, though.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Congrats on grad school! What are you studying?

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Elyse says:

    Free labor isn’t as cheap as it once was!

    Good luck with grad school!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Eda says:

    My OCD is CDO because it has to be in alphabetical order. Share if you love the alphabet.

    Can I steal the murder one for my blog? It would fit nicely with a post I’m working on.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. I never share the memes. Because I’m evil.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. eths says:

    I’m really really old, so please explain meme. Thank you for your mentorship!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Rae says:

      It originally meant the way information was spread – from person to person. The Internet, of course, dumbed it down though by slapping a word or phrase on a usually viral picture and calling it a meme. So I guess it’s just a dumb way to spread information from person to person?

      Like

  8. eths says:

    Thank you! I appreciate your help. I like to keep up with recent vocabulary. I have grandchildren who I can impress.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. eths says:

    Saves energy, also!

    Like

  10. I never share those memes even when they’re more specific and applicable, because I think that chain letters is EXACTLY what they are.

    EXACTLY.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. sindyblue10 says:

    I completely ignore all those no matter how ‘great’ the topic of the meme is.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. weebluebirdie says:

    You’ve summed up one of my top reasons for not doing Facebook 🙂 These are all brilliant, especially the sunset image with friends for foreverish meme. (Not quite the dedication of Liam Neeson in Taken!) I think it’s the sunset ones I hate the most. You know, I’m not one for re-blogging, but I just might make an exception this time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. knotrune says:

    I usually never share these, but I have to share your murder one, it’s brilliant! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Elizabeth says:

    Facebook feels like high school. I hope grad school is so much better!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. marple25mary says:

    Lol snort! I have never shared one of those on my fb page ever. Completely ridiculous they are. Especially the ones that DARE me to post. Because 99% of people won’t DARE. I am, however, going to share this post on my fb page. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Cary Vaughn says:

    Brilliant! I’ll take them all.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. That last one is great. I will have to find it on facebook to share.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Pingback: Murder Is Bad | Tokyo Tales

  19. At the end of the day, I just plain don’t love anyone enough to share stupid memes. Sorry hubby and kids, but my self-respect is more important! The only memes I share are those who have passed my snort test – no, not cocaine or anything – when something is really, over the top, hilarious, I’ll snort when I laugh. If it didn’t make me snort, it doesn’t get shared.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. This needed to be said very much and has prevented my eyeballs from rolling out of my head. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  21. I personally found your memes quite inspiring. I mean, I feel so much more inclined to share yours than almost every one I have ever seen. You forgot to include at least one with grumpy cat and another one with a pug. I mean, we have to stick with what’s popular yeah?

    I forgive you for neglecting your blog. Kind of. I might even still look for you in the rain until the weather got bad.

    Liked by 1 person

  22. Late to the party, let me see how this turns out. It occurs to me that for each and every one of you on my friends list, I catch myself looking at your unnecessary memes, sharing Snopes debunked myths… We will see who will take the time to read this message until the end. I’m going to be watching to see who takes care of the friendship, just like me with my unnecessary meme. Leave ONE WORD AS TO HOW WE MET. Only ONE word or should I say; ONE WORD ONLY!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. pegoleg says:

    I’ve never murdered anyone while eating an apple. Should I post that?

    Like

  24. saranade says:

    I was just carrying on about this exact topic. I made my own meme and posted it on my instagram page (because I have already made an agreement with myself to quit Facebook). I ❤ this post!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. OMG yes! I hate uplifting memes!!! Except that murder one of yours is pretty uplifting AND freaking brilliant!

    Liked by 1 person

  26. Just found your blog and I think I’m hooked! Please check out my new blog I just started. I hope to make people pee their pants, or at least lol a little.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment